POETRY:: LOVE NOT LUST – DACHIEF UMOH

Dachief at Christmas From The Factory

Dachief at Christmas From The Factory

Nine months and a few days
I was living in a hidden place
And outgrowing my home
And tired of staying home alone
I decided to step out into a new home.
This happened some twenty something years ago.
I walked in with no sense
And so they said I was innocent.
On arrival my first assignment was to cry
While others smiled and no one asked why

And being made like a camcorder,
It was … power on
My lens door opened
Microphone turned on,
And with that done
Next on was record.

I recorded everything that passed in front of my lens
And every sound the microphone could take.
The good, the bad and the ugly,
All moved down the tape in a hurry.
At some point it appeared the tape
Had more bad shots than good ones
Imagine a playback from a tape full of
Adultery, fornication, uncleanness, idolatry,
Witchcraft, hatred, envy, murder, drunkenness,
Variance, sedition, emulation, heresies….
Terrible you will agree with me,
Not only did it disgust me sitting back to watch
But viewers and followers walked away because they didn’t like such.

I got to find out that the bad shots
Were not the only ones at every spot;
But that the operator appreciated all except the good shots.
So I decided to change operators.
At once I ended his contracts and deleted his contacts,
Took my camcorder back and told him why.
The reason was simple…
The scenes he shot were not scenes for the screen.

In my thinking I remembered that my friend told me
Of an operator he gave his camcorder to.
The things he said about the man were so lovely
So I couldn’t hesitate no more.
I stepped up to Him and
Handed over the camcorder and accessories to Him
Ever since the day I said yes to Him
His terms and conditions I held supreme,
Not only have I enjoyed sitting back the playback
But followers and viewers of programs that I broadcast has been on a steady rise.
We now broadcast scenes like
Joy, peace, long suffering, gentleness,
Goodness, faith, meekness, temperance
And above all LOVE.

But before I Go, listen I just want you to know
I found out that
LOVE means LOOKING OVER VANITY ENTIRELY and
LUST is LIVING UNDER SATAN’S TRICK

But who would have thought that
A man in his right senses
Would choose to LIVE UNDER SATAN’S TRICK (LUST)
Rather than LOOK OVER VANITY ENTIRELY (LOVE).
Real shame that in our vanity
We run and overtake things that are vain
And bring pain instead of gain.

Or who would have imagined a right thinking man
Choosing vanity over reality;
The reality being that one man Loved, so he gave
And vanity being that we LUST, and so we receive
But in our insanity we like to receive when we should give,
And so we LUST when we should LOVE…

Need I remind you that in JOHN
God loved the world that He gave and
No greater LOVE hath a man than this that a man should give up
The thief comes only to take away
Because he was a taker from the first day

And though they rhyme in sound LUST, LOVE,
They are not close in meaning or practice…
The summation of righteous living is in LOVE
And that of sinful living is LUST.

And we LOVE because He first LOVED us
So I pray my brothers and sisters
That we shine our eyes
And let the light of the word of God shine in our hearts
So that we would choose to LOOK OVER VANITY ENTIRELY (LOVE)
Than LIVE UNDER SATAN’S TRICK (LUST)

©Dachief Umoh 2013

Follow Dachief via @DachiefUmoh

You Like it? Share with others.
»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»
Remember to follow us »
http://www.twitter.com/whatsupcity1
and like our page via
http://www.facebook.com/whatsupcity| BBM:25B6C0E1

Leave a Reply

